SQL Table Editor Unable to Edit Any Values

DcDev
New Contributor

I am trying to create a small POC for using a SQL Table Editor tool.  However, I am unable to edit a table row on the SQL Table Editor even after it is in a Dashboard with all of the settings to do so. 

What is the typical reason for this?  I have Default For Allow Column Updates = True and my OneStream Database Server Maintenance Group for Ancillary Tables is set to Administrators (I am an Admin).  I tried setting that to Everyone and that didn't work either.  I am confused on way the basic functionality of this to to edit SQL data is not working.  Any help appreciated!  

Thank you!

DcDev_0-1720042161787.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Henning
Valued Contributor

Hi, you are trying to edit an application database table. I strongly believe that this is not possible using SQL Table Editor. Allowing this would circumvent all auditing within the platform.

You need to create your own custom table, save your FX data in there and then use a business rule to use native Apis to save the FX rates in FXRateType table.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Henning
Valued Contributor

Hi, you are trying to edit an application database table. I strongly believe that this is not possible using SQL Table Editor. Allowing this would circumvent all auditing within the platform.

You need to create your own custom table, save your FX data in there and then use a business rule to use native Apis to save the FX rates in FXRateType table.

sameburn
Contributor

I agree with @Henning .  You should not be trying to make changes to Application / System tables with a SQL Table Editor (this is why you cannot edit when viewing an application table).  This will not be audited and is not recommended.  This component is to be used with custom tables (e.g. ones created by you) not ones installed as part of the OneStream client installation e.g. FXRateTypes  

DcDev
New Contributor