Is there a REST API for quickviews?

dbeavon
Contributor

I have some experience retrieving structured cube data from the REST API named "GetAdoDataSetForCubeViewCommand".

However, I'd like to get ad-hoc information. Ideally there would be another method that is analogous to retrieving data from an Excel "quickview".

Did I overlook a "quickview" mechanism in the REST API? I am using the documentation named "REST API Implementation Guide", but it doesn't mention anything that looks promising. Perhaps there may be some undocumented approach?

The cubeview already does much of what I need. However it requires preparation (the cubeviews must be prepared ahead of time and deployed to the server). It would be better if the API allowed "quickviews", since they don't require any previous preparation or infrastructure.

Currently we are using Onestream v.6.3.0.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

db_pdx
Contributor III

This was bugging me so I played around some more.  I think you can get a SQL like extract which can be filtered as needed.  Its certainly not the full functionality of an MDX query, but might be sufficient for your needs?  Basic setup:

Dashboard DataSet BR > Data Adapter > GetAdoDataSetForAdapter.

The key is/are the BRApi.Import.Data.FdxExecute... functions which are DataTable objects by default.  I was able to use FdxExecuteDataUnit to pull a major data unit and then filter the results down to relevant items with the filter string component (filters using SQL syntax). Note, this is base level data, not aggregated. Reference threads:

https://community.onestreamsoftware.com/t5/Reporting/Exporting-Data-automatically-to-outside-of-OneS...

https://community.onestreamsoftware.com/t5/Office-Hours/Question-Where-can-we-find-examples-of-FDX-C...

Hope this is enough to get you started.

-DB

View solution in original post

dbeavon
Contributor