Business Rule debug

Sergey
Contributor III

Hello,

I'm new to Business Rule, and I'm struggling with the execution of a data management step with type "custom calculate".

Currently, the execution of this script is giving me the message below :

Error processing Data Management Step 'CC_FY2022_BUD'. Unable to execute Business Rule 'CopyData'. Invalid destination data unit in script 'A#Account1:C#Local:T#2022M1:S#Budget:U1#None:U3#T:U8#None:O#Import'.

In the Data Management step, I have defined elements in the POV and Data Units, and "Data Units" elements seem to be taken into account correctly, but elements in the "POV" such as U2, U4, U5, U6, U7 elements that have been defined in the POV of data element task (hierarchy nodes) seem like is not considered in the calculation.

So here are my questions:

- What is the error message mentionned above actually saying ?

- Are POC elements from the Data Element task taken into account in the Finance Business Rules ?

- How do you efficiently debug a Business Rule ?

Many thanks for your prompt answers 🙂

Regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

MarkMatson
New Contributor III

To expand on what Marc said, my understanding is that you can't have any of these dimensions on the left hand side of an equals sign in a custom calculate business rule:

Cube, Entity, Parent, Scenario, Consolidation, and Time

These dimensions comprise the data unit. When you run a business rule from data management, it re-runs the rule multiple times each of the data units you have specified in the data management job. So when you're inside the rule, you can't choose to send data across to another data unit; you work within the current data unit that is executing for that pass.

You can use conditions in the rule e.g. if you put multiple entities in the data management filter then you can say "if api.pov.entity.name = "HeadOffice" then" in the business rule to focus a piece of logic on one entity.