Run Data Managment as an admin?

fizzledrizzle
New Contributor III

Howdy,

Background: I have a data management job that runs a Business Rule. I have created a dashboard with a button that can trigger this data management step. 

Problem: As an Administrator I can run the data management job, or I can click the dashboard button. As a user when attempting to use the button the following error happens: "Summary: Error processing Data Management Step 'xxx'. Unable to execute Business Rule 'yyy'. Object reference not set to an instance of an object." I have read that this is really just a catch all error. 

I think I have narrowed the problem down and believe it is because the users do not have permissions on the BatchHarvest Folder (which is referenced in the job). 

So, one question I have is: can a Data Managment job be triggered to run "as an admin" that I could assign to the button?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
10 REPLIES 10

RobbSalzmann
Valued Contributor

Hi @fizzledrizzle ,  While permissions might be causing the issue, its not what the error is telling us.  The error means that a variable is being assigned a null value, or a variable is being referenced while null (nothing assigned to it).

Its likely trying to assign something that an admin can read (in the code), and a user cannot, like access to a file

Since there is no debugger, we have to write things to the error log until we find the thing causing the error.  I'd look  in the business rule and the args being passed in by the button for things like code that brings in a member, like an entity where security may prevent a user from being able to see the entity while an admin can.

JackLacava
Community Manager
Community Manager

Permissions on DM jobs are typically related to the security groups assigned to Scenarios, check them out - there is one property specific to DM...

Beyond that, I'd second what @RobbSalzmann says - identify the actual line that fails, by logging messages, e.g.: