Exclude members from rule expression

AndreaF
Contributor III

Hi,

I have two sets of derivative source rules (see below). 

image.png

What I am looking for is to exclude the Accounts starting with 9203 from the second set of derivative source rules.

Each derivative source rule loops through all source data rows, so it is not like in the mask rules, where placing the 9203* expression before the 92* expression would automatically exclude the first from the second set.

What's the syntax to exclude something from a rule expression (in derivative rules)? Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

JackLacava
Honored Contributor

I'm not good at Transformation rules, but I don't think you can do a difference easily - you'd need a buffer, which is only available on BiBlend derivatives. However, it might be enough to place something like this on your 92* line, to nullify any value coming from 9203:

if args.GetSource("A#").StartsWith("9203") then
   return 0
end if
return args.ColumnValue

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

RobbSalzmann
Valued Contributor

Try using a couple interim totals:RobbSalzmann_3-1688419260494.png

Hi, thank you for your reply. Your suggestion wouldn't work in my case because accounts are alphanumeric, so I cannot define numeric ranges. An example of account is "921N-05B".

I was thinking maybe using a complex expression is possible to return the difference between 2 derivative rules, so having a rule row for A#[9203*], one for A#[92*] as interim rule and a Final rule that does the difference between the first 2.

Would anyone be able to help with a code example of such expression?

JackLacava
Honored Contributor

I'm not good at Transformation rules, but I don't think you can do a difference easily - you'd need a buffer, which is only available on BiBlend derivatives. However, it might be enough to place something like this on your 92* line, to nullify any value coming from 9203:

if args.GetSource("A#").StartsWith("9203") then
   return 0